Top Menu

Frontier League to Field 10 Teams in 2019

Frontier League

After losing two markets to the summer-collegiate ranks, the independent Frontier League will field 10 teams during its 2019 season. 

Changes have been inevitable for the Frontier League, as recent announcements spelled the departures of two markets from the circuit’s lineup. The Traverse City Beach Bums are not returning, and will be replaced at Wuerfel Park by a summer-collegiate Northwoods League team. That move was announced last month, when it was revealed that an investment group led by the West Michigan Whitecaps (Low A; Midwest League) was purchasing Wuerfel Park with the intention of fielding a Northwoods League squad in the facility.

In addition, the Normal CornBelters are leaving the league. They are joining the summer-collegiate ranks, with plans for a specific league to be announced at a later time.

“Frontier League fans will notice that the League will be at 10 teams in 2019,” Commissioner Bill Lee said in a press statement.  “While we would have liked that Traverse City and Normal remain in the League, their ownership groups decided to pursue other opportunities.”

The Frontier League will retain its East and West divisions structure, with the departures of Normal and Traverse City from the West and East divisions respectively marking the only changes. The regular season will begin with three games on Thursday, May 9, and is slated to conclude on Sunday, September 1. More information can be found in the Frontier League’s 2019 schedule announcement, which was issued today.

, , , ,