Top Menu

Las Vegas Ballpark Snares Triple-A Best of the Ballparks Crown

Las Vegas Ballpark 2019

We have a new champion in the 2019 MiLB Triple-A Best of the Ballparks fan vote, with Las Vegas Ballpark, new home of the Las Vegas Aviators, defeating Southwest University Park, home of the El Paso Chihuahuas, in the finals.

Over 85,000 fans voted in all five rounds of the Triple-A Best of the Ballparks fan vote, with almost 500,000 fans voting to date in the overall competition. After several close votes in previous rounds, the final margin in the finals: 55.6-44.4% Vegas. Huntington Park, home of the International League’s Columbus Clippers, won the 2017 and 2018 Best of the Ballparks fan voting.

The Aviators lead Triple-A baseball in total home attendance of 398,771 with sixteen games totaling more than 10,000-plus attendees this season.

“We are thrilled that Las Vegas Ballpark won this award in the fan voting conducted by Ballpark Digest,” said Don Logan, President and COO, Las Vegas Aviators. “Las Vegas Ballpark has become a great showcase for professional baseball and the fan support in our inaugural season has been tremendous. Everyone worked extremely hard in the planning and preparation of the Ballpark and we could not be more proud.”

“Las Vegas Ballpark is a tremendous accomplishment, truly standing out in a market already known for noteworthy entertainment and top-notch venues,” said Kevin Reichard, Publisher, Ballpark Digest. “In a year where many notable new ballparks have opened in pro and college baseball, Las Vegas Ballpark made an impression that fans took note of.”

It’s a big year for both ballparks. Las Vegas Ballpark opened this season as the new home of the rebranded Las Vegas Aviators to wide acclaim, as evidenced by our visit earlier this season. Southwest University Park opened in 2014 and was named Ballpark of the Year in the annual Ballpark Digest awards. Next week El Paso is hosting the Triple-A All-Star Game, pitting the top stars from the Pacific Coast League and the International League.

Other winners in this year’s Best of the Ballparks fan vote:

MLB: PNC Park (Pittsburgh Pirates)
Double-A: Hodgetown (Amarillo Sod Poodles)
High-A: LECOM Park (Bradenton Marauders)
Low-A: Parkview Field (Fort Wayne TinCaps)
Cactus League: Salt River Fields at Talking Stick (Arizona Diamondbacks / Colorado Rockies)
Grapefruit League: Publix Field at Joker Marchant Stadium (Detroit Tigers)

, , , ,