Top Menu

Ogden Hosts Annual All-Star Game

Ogden ASG

Lindquist Field was in the All-Star spotlight on Tuesday, and from all indications, the ballpark and the Ogden Raptors (Rookie; Pioneer League) hosted a successful event.  

Last night marked the second annual All-Star Game between the Short Season-A Northwest League and the Rookie Pioneer League, with the two circuits meeting at Lindquist Field. As with most All-Star Games, the planning for the Raptors took place over an extended period of time, as the team had to not only arrange the particulars of the contest, but also of the related events. Once the game finally arrived, it seemed to be met with a positive reception by players and fans, something that was good news for Raptots president Dave Baggott. More from the Post Register:

“It’s not hard work, it’s just three times the work because normally you’re dealing with one team and one fan base,” Baggott said. “This is a culmination of a year’s worth of work, and we’ll see what the payoff is.”

Ogden announced it would host the 2016 all-star game during last year’s inaugural game in Spokane, Wash. Minor League Baseball officially approved it near the end of the 2015 season, allowing Baggott and company to move forward with the event schedule, ticket packages, TV deals, etc.

The festivities started Monday evening. Players and executives arrived sporadically throughout the day. The players talked to the media at 4:15 p.m., then left for dinner at Needles Lodge at Snowbasin Ski Resort. The players, executives, media and others involved rode gondolas up to the resort.

“I’m not real big on heights, so I’m glad it was the gondolas they were using and not the T-bars,” Minor League Baseball president Pat O’Conner said. “I talked with a few young men (about the gondola ride) and said, ‘You ever seen anything like that?’ And they said, ‘Never.’ And they may never again.”

In front of more than 5,300 fans, the visiting Northwest League won by a final of 11-5. Last year’s game was played at Aivista Stadium, home of the Spokane Indians, making the Raptors the first Pioneer League squad to host the event.

, , , , ,