Top Menu

Best of the Ballparks 2018: Short Season-A, Elite Eight

Ballpark DigestWith several close votes and a few upsets in the previous round, we’re ready to move on to the Elite Eight stage of the 2018 Best of the Ballparks fan vote for Short Season-A, with strong contenders left in the mix. So go vote!

Talk about close: one bracket was decided by three votes, another was decided by seven votes. So we’ll tell you what we say every round: your vote will count.

Short Season-A covers an interesting set of ballparks, ranging from historically significant ballparks like BB&T Ballpark at Bowman Field and Centennial Field to newer ballparks like Monongalia County Ballpark and Leidos Field at Ripken Stadium. There are former Double-A and Triple-A ballparks in the mix as well. Because there are only 22 ballparks at the Short Season-A level, there will be 10 byes in this first round of voting. We’ve now narrowed the field to 16 teams, so time for the next round.

Here’s our schedule for Best of the Ballparks 2018 vote:

MLB: Completed
Class A and Class AA: Completed
Class AAA: June 14-July 6
Short Season A/Rookie: Now-July 6
Independent: Now-July 9
Summer Collegiate: July 2-22

We are running the contest with seeded brackets, so there will be plenty of action in coming days. Here’s a breakdown of the voting schedule:

First Round: Completed
Second Round: Completed
Third Round: Now-June 30,  2 p.m. Central
Fourth Round: June 30,  2 p.m. Central-July 5,  2 p.m. Central
Finals: July 5, 2 p.m. Central-July 9, 4 p.m. Central

We know from our marketing/user research a third of our readers work in the baseball industry, so we’re tapping into that collective expertise. And we know from our research that a third of our readers sell to the baseball industry, so that expertise will be valuable as well. The remaining third — fans, media, government — will certainly have a different view on things as well.

Some things to note. First, you are allowed to vote multiple times, but you can only vote once per day. Second, you don’t need to fill out a full slate: partially filled votes will count. A running tally of the vote will be presented, and you can view the results to date in the brackets graphic at the bottom of this page.

Leading this year’s seedings: last year’s winner, LeLacheur Park, home of the Lowell Spinners. There has not been a repeat winner, but all three past winners have come from the NY-Penn League: Monongalia County Ballpark (2015), BB&T Ballpark at Bowman Field (2016) and LeLacheur Park.

Here is the ranking used at the beginning of the vote:

1. LeLacheur Park (Lowell Spinners; NYP)
2. BB&T Ballpark at Bowman Field (Williamsport Crosscutters; NYP)
3. MCU Park (Brooklyn Cyclones; NYP)
4. Leidos Field at Ripken Stadium (Aberdeen IronBirds; NYP)
5. Ron Tonkin Field (Hillsboro Hops; NWL)
6. Medlar Field at Lubrano Park (State College Spikes; NYP)
7. Avista Stadium (Spokane Indians; NWL)
8. Centennial Field (Vermont Lake Monsters; NYP)
9. Monongalia County Ballpark (West Virginia Black Bears; NYP)
10. Scotiabank Field at Nat Bailey Stadium (Vancouver Canadians; NWL)
11. Dodd Stadium (Connecticut Tigers; NYP)
12. PK Park (Eugene Emeralds; NWL)
13. Joseph L. Bruno Stadium (Tri-City ValleyCats; NYP)
14. Richmond County Bank Ballpark (Staten Island Yankees; NYP)
15. Dutchess Stadium (Hudson Valley Renegades; NYP)
16. Volcanoes Stadium (Salem-Keizer Volcanoes; NWL)
17. Eastwood Field (Mahoning Valley Scrappers; NYP)
18. Everett Memorial Stadium (Everett AquaSox; NWL)
19. Memorial Stadium (Boise Hawks; NWL)
20. Gesa Stadium (Tri-City Dust Devils; NWL)
21. Falcon Park (Auburn Doubledays; NYP)
22. Dwyer Stadium (Batavia Muckdogs; NYP)

NWL = Northwest League
NYP = NY-Penn League

2018 MiLB Best of the Ballparks

, , ,