Top Menu

Southern League Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Class

Southern League 2016 logo

The Southern League is set to welcome three new members to its Hall of Fame, as Tom GlavineGabe Kapler, and Tony La Russa have been inducted. The class was chosen by a panel of 20 voters. 

Before earning 10 trips to the MLB All-Star Game and a spot in Cooperstown, Glavine started 22 games for the 1986 Greenville Braves, compiling an 11-6 record and 3.41 ERA. Currently working on the player development side of the game, Kapler continues to hold numerous Southern League records after his 1998 season with the Jacksonville Suns earned him the MiLB Player of the Year award. One of the greatest managers in baseball history, La Russa spent time in the Southern circuit as both a champion skipper and player, earning three total titles.

As part of the fourth induction class to the Southern League Hall of Fame, nominees were accepted from the member clubs and voting committee. Upon receipt of the nominees, the 2017 ballot was sent back to the committee and the top three names were selected by the voting panel.

The inductees’ names will be recognized at the 2017 All-Star Game in Pensacola, Florida, while individual clubs may honor those relevant inductees during the season. The purpose of the Southern League Hall of Fame is to recognize individuals for their accomplishments and contributions to the League on the field of play or in an administrative role. This shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, players, managers, coaches, umpires, League and team executives, owners, and media members.

, , , , ,