Top Menu

Fort Myers, Lake Elsinore land 2016 All-Star Games

2016 FSL All-Star Game logoThe Fort Myers Miracle will host the 2016 Florida State League All-Star Game, while the Lake Elsinore Storm will host the 2016 California League-Carolina League All-Star Game.

The 55th All-Star Game in Florida State League history will be played for a sixth time in Fort Myers since 1985 and will be put on by the Miracle for a fifth time. A three-day All-Star break will commence on Friday, June 17 and end on Sunday, June 19. The game will be played on Saturday, June 18 at 7:05 p.m.

“We are thrilled to show off this state-of-the art facility after the renovations and upgrades that have improved the fan experience the last two seasons,” said Miracle Chief Operating Officer Steve Gliner. “This event will be a great opportunity not just for local fans, but also for guests from around Florida and the United States to come and experience Fort Myers, Hammond Stadium and the beautiful Southwest Florida region.”

The All-Star Game will feature two teams comprised of players from the South and North Divisions. The South Division is made up of the Bradenton Marauders, Charlotte Stone Crabs, Fort Myers Miracle, Jupiter Hammerheads and Palm Beach Cardinals. The North Division includes the Brevard County Manatees, Clearwater Threshers, Daytona Tortugas, Dunedin Blue Jays, Lakeland Flying Tigers and Tampa Yankees.

A Home Run Derby will precede the All-Star Game on Saturday, June 18 and a fireworks show will follow the final out. A special All-Star Weekend event will be scheduled for the evening on Friday, June 17. More details about the All-Star Game and festivities will be released in the coming months.

The Miracle last hosted the All-Star Game in 2009. Then Twins prospect Chris Parmelee won the Home Run Derby and Ben Revere played in the game representing Fort Myers. Current Chicago Cub Starlin Castro picked up four hits and was named the MVP of the game. Giancarlo Stanton was also named to the 2009 South Division team.

In 2003, current Major League stars that played in the game included David Wright, Ryan Howard, Robinson Cano, Curtis Granderson and Joe Mauer. The 2001 All-Star Game at Hammond Stadium featured Chase Utley.

The first FSL All-Star Game hosted in Fort Myers was held in 1985 at Terry Park by the Fort Myers Royals.

The 2016 California League-Carolina League All-Star Game represent a monumental year as the California League celebrates the 75th year of Minor League Baseball. To commemorate this occasion, the league will introduce its inaugural California League Hall of Fame Class at the All-Star Game in Lake Elsinore.

“I’m thrilled that the Lake Elsinore Storm will be hosting the 2016 All Star Game during our 75th year,” Charlie Blaney, California League President, said. “The Storm staff do a great job at highlighting a family friendly atmosphere with memorable and creatively wacky experiences that make Minor League Baseball so exciting. Also, The Diamond is the perfect place to honor the inaugural Cal League Hall of Fame class.”

Notable alumni from the California League include George Brett, Don Drysdale, Ken Griffey Jr., Rickey Henderson, Reggie Jackson, Pedro Martinez, Kirby Puckett and Mike Trout.

“The 75th season of Cal League baseball is a very special occasion,” Storm president Dave Oster said. “We’re extremely honored to have been chosen as host for the 2016 edition of the All-Star Game. We plan on honoring the rich history of the league in what is sure to be a memorable Midsummer Classic.”

, , , , , , ,