Top Menu

Freedom Baseball League names GM

Freedom Baseball LeagueKirk Jewell, formerly with Phoenix International Raceway and the Arizona Diamondbacks, is the new GM of the independent Freedom Baseball League, which also announced additional venues for its inaugural season.

Jewell will be GM of all four teams in the start-up circuit, which is centered in the Phoenix area. The league will consist of four teams, although only one has a lease: the Arizona Centennials will play at Scottsdale Stadium and begin the league play against the Copper State Prospectors on May 19. 

The playing situation for the other three teams is not so settled. The league is seeking leases for the Montezuma Federals at Yavapai College’s Roughrider Park, the Sonoran Explorers at Peoria Sports Complex, and the Copper State Prospectors at Tempe Diablo Stadium.

It will be interesting to see how the leases at the pro ballparks are structured: the MLB teams holding spring training in these facilities also use them for extended spring training and rookie-league play. The independent Golden Baseball League once tried setting up league play at Phoenix ballparks only to find their access extremely limited, making it virtually impossible to make a buck.

RELATED STORIES: New for 2012: Freedom Baseball League


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Are you a subscriber to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter? You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

Follow Ballpark Digest on Google + and add us to your circles!

, , , , , , , , ,