Top Menu

North American League at 10 teams for ’12

North American LeagueThe independent North American League will go with 10 teams this season: six in Texas and four — San Rafael, Orange County, Yuma and Maui — in a Northern Division.

Last night the San Rafael Pacifics released a 72-game schedule with 42 home games at Albert Park, beginning June 4 with a home game against the Orange County Flyers and ending Aug. 26. Six-game series look to be the order of the day, although the Pacifics are set to play a 12-game series in Maui in August.

It was a rough offseason for the North American League, at least in the Northern Division: Calgary, Edmonton and Chico all dropped out of the circuit, and seeing Orange County in the schedule is somewhat of a surprise — the team had gone dark after the 2010 season, and there’s not been a peep from Allan Mintz and crew since November.

RELATED STORIES: Chico Outlaws season scrapped; Edmonton out of North American League; Outlaws negotiating return to Chico in 2012; Abilene in NAL


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Are you a subscriber to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter? You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

Follow Ballpark Digest on Google + and add us to your circles!

, , , , , ,