Top Menu

2018 MLB Postseason Ballparks: A Mix of Classic and New

SunTrust Park

Major League Baseball is now gearing up for the 2018 postseason. The action on the field will take place within several distinct venues, as this year’s mix of MLB postseason ballparks include some of the game’s classics and one venue making its October debut.

In the American League, the postseason will feature several ballparks familiar with October baseball. That includes the homes of the three division winners—the Boston Red Sox (Fenway Park), Cleveland Indians (Progressive Field), and Houston Astros (Minute Maid Park), all of whom are repeating their division titles of a year ago—and Yankee Stadium, which will host Wednesday’s Wild Card Game between the Yankees and Oakland A’s.

Should the A’s prevail Wednesday night, it would allow the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum to host it first postseason action since 2013. All of the other playoff venues are repeating from a year ago, as the Yankees hosted and won last year’s Wild Card Game before ultimately advancing to the ALCS and losing to the Astros.

Over in the National League, there will be a mix of new and established ballparks. Most notably, the Atlanta Braves won the National League East, meaning that SunTrust Park will host its first playoff games after opening last year. The Milwaukee Brewers have won the National League Central, ensuring that Miller Park will host its first postseason action since 2011. Rounding out the slate of NL Division winners is the Los Angeles Dodgers, who have won the West and set up another year of postseason baseball at Dodger Stadium.

The National League Wild Card Game will take place at Wrigley Field on Tuesday, with the Chicago Cubs hosting the Colorado Rockies. For the Cubs, this ensures a fourth straight October of playoff baseball at Wrigley Field, but the Rockies will need to win on Tuesday in order to bring Coors Field its first postseason game since 2009.

Overall, this is a strong mix of ballparks. MLB’s newest ballpark (SunTrust Park) and its three oldest ballparks—Fenway Park, Wrigley Field, and Dodger Stadium—will get to host playoff action while a few other solid venues—including Progressive Field, Minute Maid Park, Yankee Stadium, and Miller Park—are already guaranteed of adding to their postseason histories.

This article first appeared in the Ballpark Digest newsletter. Are you a subscriber? It’s free, and you’ll see features like this before they appear on the Web. Go here to subscribe to the Ballpark Digest newsletter.

, , , , , , , , , , ,