Top Menu

Miami lands 2017 ASG; MLB alters home-field advantage

Miami MarlinsAs reported earlier this week, the Miami Marlins and Marlins Park will indeed host the 2017 MLB All-Star game, but awarding three straight games to National League teams is forcing Major League Baseball into changing the batting order for the 2016 game.

Miami will host the Midsummer Classic for the first time; it previously was set to host the 2000 All-Star Game, but behavior by Marlins ownership after the 1997 World Series caused Bud Selig to change the venue to Turner Field, home of the Atlanta Braves.

The game date of the 2017 Midsummer Classic is Tuesday, July 11, 2017.

“Miami has hosted two World Series, and I am pleased that Marlins Park will now welcome the city’s first All-Star Game in 2017,” said MLB Commissioner Rob Manfred. “The Marlins and the city made a comprehensive bid to hold a memorable All-Star Week during the club’s 25th season. As the Gateway to Latin America, Miami will be a perfect venue for a global game to celebrate the summer’s best sporting event.”

“The Miami Marlins are thrilled to host the 2017 All-Star Game at Marlins Park,” said Marlins Owner Jeffrey Loria. “This is representative of a new chapter in so many ways, including the evolution of our great city, the bright future for our ballclub, and even the sport itself, as we welcome our new and dynamic commissioner to the helm. It’s an exciting time for baseball and we look forward to hosting one of its iconic events in 2017.”

The decision to award the game to Miami and not an American League city is forcing some changes in the 2016 game. The award gives the National League three consecutive All-Star Games — Cincinnati in 2015, San Diego in 2016, Miami in 2017 — after Manfred and crew made the decision to award the 2017 game would be awarded to the team making the most competitive bid, regardless of league affiliation. (Stupid change: if you’re going to base World Series home-field advantage on winning the All-Star Game, you really need to rotate the league hosts.)

The response from MLB: sides will continue to alternate who bats last. That means the American League will bat last in the 2016 All-Star Game in San Diego. And, of course, the designated hitter will be used no matter the venue.

With Miami slotted, there are only four MLB ballparks not to host an All-Star Game — the new Yankee Stadium, Nationals Park, Citizens Bank Park (which to us is an absolute stunner) and Tropicana Field.

RELATED STORIES: Marlins land 2017 MLB All-Star Game: report

, , , , , , , ,