Top Menu

KC Cougars officially dedicate Fifth Third Bank Ballpark

Kane County CougarsThe Kane County Cougars (Low Class A; Midwest League) held a dedication ceremony for Fifth Third Bank Ballpark, becoming the fourth MiLB team to sell naming rights to the banking chain.

The team held a dedication ceremony last night to officially mark the name change.

The Toledo Mud Hens (Class AAA; International League) and the Dayton Dragons (Low Class A; Midwest League) both play at ballparks named Fifth Third Field. The West Michigan Whitecaps (Low Class A; Midwest League) play at Fifth Third Ballpark.

It’s certainly a little unusual to see the same company buy naming rights to three ballparks in the same circuit, but the Chicago-based Fifth Third Bank must be finding the branding strategy works. The official dedication of the name at the Geneva, Ill. ballpark came on 5/3 (get it?).

The Elfstrom name will live on: the entire complex will still be known as the Philip B. Elfstrom Events Center.


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Are you a subscriber to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter? You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

Follow Ballpark Digest on Google + and add us to your circles!

, , , , , , , , ,