Top Menu

Dragons up for national award

Dayton DragonsThe Dayton Dragons (Low Class A; Midwest League) are the first minor-league team to be nominated for the Professional Sports Team of the Year Award from SportsBusiness Journal.

The Dragons are joined as finalists by the Texas Rangers (MLB), Boston Bruins (NHL), Stewart-Haas Racing (NASCAR) and Sporting Kansas City (MLS). The award honors one sports franchise based on an evaluation of “excellence, growth, creativity, innovation, sound planning, implementation and outcomes.” 

The winner will be announced at a ceremony on May 23, 2012 at the New York Marriott Marquis at Times Square.

The Dragons had a pretty good year in 2011 to merit consideration for the award: On July 9, 2011 the Dragons eclipsed the Portland Trail Blazers’ streak of 814 consecutive sellouts to become the longest run in U.S. professional sports. That achievement already landed the Dragons the 2011 Organization of the Year from Ballpark Digest.

The award puts the Dragons in some impressive company.  In 2011, baseball’s defending World Series champion San Francisco Giants won the award, while the other nominees were the Orlando Magic (NBA), the New York Jets (NFL), the Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL), and Chip Ganassi Racing (NASCAR/IndyCar Racing).

RELATED STORY: 2011 Organization of the Year: Dayton Dragons


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Are you a subscriber to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter? You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

Follow Ballpark Digest on Google + and add us to your circles!

, , , , , ,