Top Menu

Midwest League Announces MiLB Award Nominees

Midwest League

The Midwest League has announced its nominees for Minor League Baseball‘s five post-season awards. The prestigious awards include the Charles K. Murphy Patriot Award, John Henry Moss Community Service Award, the Larry MacPhail Award, the John H. Johnson President’s Award and Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year Award. After nominees from all leagues are reviewed by the MiLB Awards Committee, recommendations are presented to the President and Executive Vice President of MiLB for final decision. Winners will be announced and presented with awards at the Baseball Winter Meetings in December.

The Charles K. Murphy Patriot Award is presented to a club or individual employed by a club for outstanding support of and engagement with the United States Armed Forces and veterans, both at the ballpark and in the community.

The John Henry Moss Community Service Award is presented to a club that demonstrates an outstanding, on-going commitment to charitable service, support and leadership within their local community and within the baseball industry.

The Larry MacPhail Promotional Award is presented to a club that demonstrated outstanding and creative marketing and promotional efforts within its community, its ballpark (including non-game day events), in media and other promotional materials.

The John H. Johnson President’s Award honors a “complete” baseball franchise that has demonstrated franchise stability, and significant contributions to its community, league, and the baseball industry.

The Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year Award is presented to a woman who has made outstanding contributions to her club, her league or to baseball.

MWL President Dick Nussbaum commented, “This year’s award nominees went through a very rigorous competitive process as each award was populated with very successful, creative, and dedicated Club submissions.  MWL nominees should provide MiLB with great choices when making final decisions. Congratulations to our nominees and to all of our Clubs on a great 2017 season.”

The 2017 Midwest League Award Nominees:

Charles K. Murphy Patriot Award: Dayton Dragons

John Henry Moss Community Service Award: Great Lakes Loons

Larry MacPhail Promotional Award: Wisconsin TimberRattlers

John H. Johnson President’s Award: Quad Cities River Bandits

Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year: Kathryn Voss, Ticket Sales Manager, Peoria Chiefs

, , ,