Top Menu

Storm Chaser throws, loses, regains no-hitter

Omaha Storm ChasersUnusual game last night in Memphis: Omaha’s Luis Mendoza threw a no-hitter last night against the Redbirds, lost it after a scoring change, then regained the no-hitter after yet another scoring change — but he could lose it again, pending potential league review.

Mendoza went all nine innings in a complete-game no-hitter, with the Omaha Storm Chasers (Class AAA; Pacific Coast League) winning 4-0. He walked off the field assuming he threw the no-no; a ball misplayed by left-fielder David Lough had been ruled an error by the official scorer at AutoZone Park. The good feelings didn’t last for long: after some contemplation, the scorer changed the error to a hit.

An hour later, another reversal from the official scorer: the play reverted back to an error. And the no-hitter returned to the books.

It could be reversed one more time, however: the scorer could ask the league to review the play. No word on whether that’s happened or will happen.

For Mendoza, the no-hitter was quite the accomplishment: it’s his second PCL no-hitter, and he joins Tacoma’s Dick Estelle (1964-65) as the only PCL pitchers to throw two nine-inning no-hitters in the past 95 years. (Overall, 10 pitchers in the 109-year history of the PCL have thrown two no-hitters,)

Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Subscribers to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter see features before they’re posted to the site. You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

, , , , , , , , ,