Top Menu

American League

American LeagueThe American League has its roots in the original Western League, where commissioners Ban Johnson and owners like Charles Comiskey and Al Spink guided that circuit to preeminence in the minor-league world.

Major League / 1900-present

But that wasn’t enough for visionaries like Johnson and Comiskey, who saw opportunities in challenging the established National League, which had shrunk from 12 to eight teams for the 1900 season and trimmed roster as well. In a fateful meeting at a Milwaukee hotel, Johnson, Comiskey and other mapped out the American League, moving Western League franchises to abandoned National League cities and shifting others to other larger cities; for instance, Charlie Comiskey moved his St. Paul franchise to Chicago. More importantly, the new league spent money on players, luring Cy Young, Ed Delahanty and Napoleon Lajoie to American League rosters. By 1902 the American League has vastly outdrawn the National League, and by 1902 the two leagues had joined forces as the two major leagues of baseball.

Current Teams (in alphabetical order)
Baltimore Orioles
Boston Red Sox
Chicago White Sox
Cleveland Indians
Detroit Tigers
Kansas City Royals
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
Minnesota Twins
New York Yankees
Oakland A’s
Seattle Mariners
Tampa Bay Rays
Texas Rangers
Toronto Blue Jays

Teams (in alphabetical order)
Anaheim Angels, 1997-2004
Baltimore Orioles, 1901-1902, 1954-present
Boston Americans, 1901
Boston Pilgrims, 1903-1906
Boston Red Sox, 1907-present
Boston Somersets, 1902
Buffalo Bisons, 1900
California Angels, 1965-1996
Chicago White Sox, 1904-present
Chicago White Stockings, 1900-1902
Cleveland Bluebirds, 1901
Cleveland Broncos, 1902
Cleveland Indians, 1915-present
Cleveland Naps, 1903-1914
Cleveland Lake Shores, 1900
Detroit Tigers, 1900-present
Indianapolis Hoosiers, 1900
Kansas City Athletics, 1955-1967
Kansas City Blues, 1900
Kansas City Royals, 1969-present
Los Angeles Angels, 1961-1964
Milwaukee Brewers, 1900-1901, 1970-1997
Minneapolis Millers, 1900
Minnesota Twins, 1961-present
New York Highlanders, 1903-1912
New York Yankees, 1913-present
Oakland Athletics, 1968-present
Philadelphia Athletics, 1901-1954
Seattle Mariners, 1977-present
Seattle Pilots, 1969
St. Louis Browns, 1902-1953
Tampa Bay Devil Rays, 1998-2007
Texas Rangers, 1972-present
Toronto Blue Jays, 1977-present
Washington Senators, 1901-1971