Top Menu

Best of the Ballparks 2018: Rookie, First Round

Ballpark DigestVoting is now open for the first round of the 2018 Best of the Ballparks fan vote for Rookie-level baseball, encompassing the 18 teams of the Appalachian League and Pioneer League. So go vote!

You can consider this a play-in round: because there are only 18 ballparks in Rookie-level ball, there are 14 byes, leaving four teams subject to two votes. Still, we would really appreciate a vote or two from you, and we’re guessing the four teams seeking a berth in the next round would appreciate it, too.

Here’s our schedule for Best of the Ballparks 2018 vote:

MLB: Completed
Class A and Class AA: Now-June 19
Class AAA: June 14-July 6
Short Season A/Rookie: Now-July 6
Independent: June 22-July 9
Summer Collegiate: July 2-22

We are running the contest with seeded brackets, so there will be plenty of action in coming days. Here’s a breakdown of the voting schedule:

First Round: Now-June 22, 2 p.m. Central
Second Round: June 22, 2 p.m. Central-June 26, 2 p.m. Central
Third Round: June 26, 2 p.m. Central-June 30,  2 p.m. Central
Fourth Round: June 30,  2 p.m. Central-July 5,  2 p.m. Central
Finals: July 5, 2 p.m. Central-July 9, 4 p.m. Central

We know from our marketing/user research a third of our readers work in the baseball industry, so we’re tapping into that collective expertise. And we know from our research that a third of our readers sell to the baseball industry, so that expertise will be valuable as well. The remaining third — fans, media, government — will certainly have a different view on things as well.

Some things to note. First, you are allowed to vote multiple times, but you can only vote once per day. Second, you don’t need to fill out a full slate: partially filled votes will count. A running tally of the vote will be presented, and you can view the results to date in the brackets graphic at the bottom of this page.

Leading this year’s seedings: last year’s winner, TVA Credit Union Ballpark, home of the Johnson City Cardinals. There has never been a repeat winner in the MiLB votes; previous winners are Melaleuca Field (2015), Dehler Park (2016) and TVA Credit Union Ballpark. Based on last year’s results, here is the ranking used at the beginning of the vote:

1. TVA Credit Union Ballpark (Johnson City Cardinals; AppL)
2. Dehler Park (Billings Mustangs; PL)
3. Suplizio Field (Grand Junction Rockies; PL)
4. Calfee Park (Pulaski Yankees; AppL)
5. Pioneer Park (Greeneville Reds; AppL)
6. Lindquist Field (Ogden Raptors; PL)
7. Melaleuca Field (Idaho Falls Chukars; PL)
8. Burlington Athletic Stadium (Burlington Royals; AppL)
9. Ogren Park at Allegiance Field (Missoula Osprey; PL)
10. Centene Stadium (Great Falls Voyagers; PL)
11. Hunnicutt Field (Princeton Rays; AppL)
12. Hunter Wright Stadium (Kingsport Mets; AppL)
13. Bowen Field (Bluefield Blue Jays; AppL)
14. Legion Field (Danville Braves; AppL)
15. Kindrick Legion Field (Helena Brewers; PL)
16. Boyce Cox Field (Bristol Pirates; AppL)
17. Home of the Owlz (Orem Owlz; PL)
18. Joe O’Brien Field (Elizabethton Twins; AppL)

AppL = Appalachian League
PL = Pioneer League

Milb rookie 2018

, , ,