Top Menu

PNC Field to Host 2017 Triple-A Championship

2017 Triple-A Championship

Next year’s Triple-A National Championship is coming to PNC Field, as the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders (Class AAA; International League) have announced the event.  

The Mohegan Sun Pocono Hotel and Casino and PNC Field will serve as host of the two-day event next summer. The title game is a one-game, winner-take-all contest featuring the champions of the International League and Pacific Coast League, and will be televised live to a national audience on the NBC Sports Network.

“We are proud to have been selected to host the 2017 Triple-A National Championship Game and can’t wait to showcase all that NEPA has and beautiful PNC Field,” said Josh Olerud, RailRiders’ COO.

SWB General Manager Jeremy Ruby said in a statement: “I could not be more excited about bringing an event of this magnitude to our community.  The opportunity to showcase PNC Field and the amazing atmosphere our fans create for a game on national television is one we couldn’t pass up. The only way this could be any better is if the RailRiders are playing in the game.”

This announcement comes on the eve of Season Ticket Renewal Information coming from the RailRiders.  As an added bonus, all FULL 2017 season ticket plans will include tickets to the Gildan National Championship game.  All other 2017 ticket package details will be released early next week.

The Triple-A National Championship Game debuted in its current one-game format in 2006 and only been hosted by an International League North Division team once. The Triple-A World Series, Triple-A Classic and Las Vegas Triple-A World Series all served are predecessors to the current championship event. The PCL has won the last four tilts and leads the all-time series, 7-3.

Gildan Triple-A National Championship Game all-time results:
2006: Tucson 5, Toledo 2
2007: Sacramento 7, Richmond 1
2008: Sacramento 4, Scranton/Wilkes-Barre 1
2009: Durham 5, Memphis 4
2010: Columbus 12, Tacoma 6
2011: Columbus 8, Omaha 3

2012: Reno 10, Pawtucket 3

2013: Omaha 2, Durham 1

2014: Omaha 4, Pawtucket 2

2015: Fresno 7, Columbus 0


This year’s Gildan Triple-A Championship Game will be in played in Memphis, Tenn., on September 20. Other events surrounding the 2017 Gildan Triple-A National Championship Game will be announced in the near future.

Gildan is a leading manufacturer and marketer of quality branded basic family apparel, including T-shirts, fleece, sport shirts, underwear, socks, hosiery, and shapewear. Gildan is in their fifth year as title sponsor of the Triple-A Baseball National Championship Game and are a proud sponsor of Triple-A baseball and all 30 of its teams.

, , , , , ,