Top Menu

College World Series field set

TD Ameritrade Park

The field for the College World Series is set, with the SEC and Pac-10 dominating the lineup — along with a few scruffy underdogs, Stony Brook and Kent State, sure to capture the hearts of fans.

For the most part, the eight teams in the College World Series — set to start Friday at 5 p.m. at Omaha’s TD Ameritrade Park — represent the powerhouse conferences of the game: Florida, South Carolina and Arkansas from the SEC; UCLA and Arizona State from the Pac-10; and Florida State from the ACC. Then you have the two teams no one really expected to be here: Kent State from the MAC and Stony Brook from America East.

Stony Brook is going to get a lot of attention at the tourney, and why not? The unheralded Seawolves managed to go into Baton Rouge’s Alex Box Stadium and beat LSU twice while also dominating a tough Coral Gables Regional that included host Miami and Central Florida. And with Stony Brook located roughly in the New York City area on Long Island, there will be plenty of East Coast media attention focused on the team’s trip west. We’re guessing the school’s most famous baseball alumnus, Joe Nathan, will be paying attention as well.

RELATED STORIES: NCAA baseball tourney field announced


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Are you a subscriber to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter? You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

Follow Ballpark Digest on Google + and add us to your circles!

, , , , , , , , ,