Top Menu

SwampDogs named CPL organization of the year

Fayetteville SwampdogsNice award for Lew and Darrell Handelsman and crew: The summer-collegiate Fayetteville SwampDogs have been named 2011 Coastal Plain League Organization of the Year for the second time in franchise history.

As Director of Operations, Darrell Handelsman always proclaims, “each night we try to host a party at J.P. Riddle Stadium that fans will remember forever.” In 2011, the SwampDogs held parties on 33 nights at “The Swamp” that over 60,000 people attended. 

According to league officials, the SwampDogs proved throughout the year to excel above and beyond in areas such as: post-game meals, on-field promotions, community involvement, webpass broadcasts, attendance and more.

“I’m most proud of the efforts and commitment that our front office staff makes every day of the year,” said SwampDogs Instigator of Fun Lew Handelsman. “This award is a just reward for those efforts.”

“We are happy to honor the Fayetteville SwampDogs as our 2011 Organization of the Year,” said Coastal Plain League President and Commissioner Pete Bock. “This award speaks to the job that Lew and Darrell (Handelsman), Jeremy (Aagard), Mark (Wilderman), and the rest of the SwampDogs staff do on a consistent basis. They have done a wonderful job in making the SwampDogs a huge success in Fayetteville and in our league. We are happy to recognize the entire Fayetteville organization, as well as their fans, and the community, with the honor of being our Organization of the Year in 2011.”


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Subscribers to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter see features before they’re posted to the site. You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

, , , , , , ,