Top Menu

Pecos League set at six for ’11

Pecos LeagueWith the addition of a Ruidoso, N.M. team and the loss of a Clovis, N.M., team, the start-up independent Pecos League is now set at six teams for the 2011 season.

Built somewhat on the ashes of the failed Continental Baseball League, the new venture features the Ruidoso (N.M.) Osos, Alpine (Tex.) Cowboys, Carlsbad (N.M.) Bats, Las Cruces (N.M.) Vaqueros, Roswell (N.M.) Invaders, and the White Sands (N.M.) Pupfish. Las Cruces and Alpine (under the Big Bend name) both played in the CBL last season.

We’re talking some basic facilities here: while Alpine’s Kokernot Field was once considered the Wrigley Field of Texas, White Pine’s Griggs Park and Ruidoso’s White Mountain Sports Complex will need upgrades just to reach the rudimentary level. (The Carlsbad team is actually a travel team.) Making it will be a challenge for the new circuit.

RELATED STORIES: Continental Baseball League to shut down July 31

Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Subscribers to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter see features before they’re posted to the site. You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

, , , , , , , , ,