Top Menu

Tag Archives | el paso diablos

Future of Cohen Stadium in play with departure of Diablos

Cohen Stadium, home to two incarnations of the El Paso Diablos, may end up staying intact as the City Council reviews redevelopment plans for the surrounding area. The independent American Association Diablos wrapped up their season and history this weekend, as the Tucson Padres (Class AAA; Pacific Coast League) will be relocating next season to […]

Continue Reading

Diablos close out El Paso tenure

The second incarnation of the El Paso Diablos (independent; American Association) came to an end yesterday, as the team wrapped up its season and history at Cohen Stadium. The original Diablos and flamboyant owner Jim Paul are still remembered fondly in some Minor League Baseball circles: an aggressive promoter whose approach to giveaways and promote […]

Continue Reading

No expansion on tap for American Association: Wolff

There are no plans for expansion in the independent American Association, reports commissioner Miles Wolff, as the league continues its focus on large markets and stable ownership groups. Visiting Fargo’s Newman Outdoor Field, Wolff addressed the issue of western Canadian teams joining the indy circuit — not likely, given the remote nature of Edmonton and […]

Continue Reading

El Paso Diablos to Socorro?

If the El Paso Diablos (independent; American Association) are booted from their Cohen Stadium lease, there’s the possibility ownership will build a new ballpark in nearby Socorro. The Diablos are owned by the Tigua tribe, who are seeking to preserve ther million-dollar-plus investment in the franchise and Cohen Stadium upgrades. The team’s future is threatened by […]

Continue Reading

AirHogs attract record crowd for home opener

Nice news out of Texas, where the Grand Prairie AirHogs (independent; American Association) drew a record crowd of 7,101 fans to QuikTrip Park for the 2012 season opener. It was an occasion to celebrate: the crowd watched the 2011 American Association champions receive their championship rings. Former AirHog ace Jason Jennings, who won the decisive Game […]

Continue Reading

American Association (current)

The current American Association was formed by independent teams leaving the Northern League and Central League, augmented by former United League Baseball markets. Independent / 2006-present Teams (in alphabetical order) Amarillo Sox, 2011-presentCoastal Bend Aviators, 2006-2007El Paso Diablos, 2006-presentFargo-Moorhead Redhawks, 2011-presentFort Worth Cats, 2006-presentGary Southshore Railcats, 2011-presentGrand Prairie Airhogs, 2008-presentKansas City T-Bones, 2011-presentLincoln Saltdogs, 2006-presentPensacola […]

Continue Reading