Top Menu

Storm Chasers Unveil Five Flashback Jerseys for 50th Season



With their 50th season on tap, the Omaha Storm Chasers (Class AAA; Pacific Coast League) have unveiled five Flashback Jerseys that will be worn on select nights in 2018. These five Flashback Jerseys will commemorate each of the organization’s five decades dating back to 1969. The Omaha Royals, Golden Spikes and Storm Chasers will all be represented over the course of the year.

On Friday, April 20, the team will sport black Storm Chasers jerseys to represent the 2011 team. Omaha wore the black jerseys beginning with the first year of play in Werner Park in 2011 through the 2015 season. Notable players to have participated in this era included future Major League All-Stars such as Salvador PerezMike MoustakasEric HosmerJarrod Dyson and Wil Myers. The Storm Chasers also earned four division titles, three Pacific Coast League Championships and Back-to-Back Triple-A National Championships during that era.


On Friday, May 25, the Storm Chasers will turn back the clock to the 2000’s, with the team suiting up as the 2010 Omaha Royals to remember their final season at Rosenblatt Stadium. The franchise was the Omaha Royals from 2002-10, with their roster featuring players such as MoustakasDysonMike SweeneyZack GreinkeBilly ButlerGreg HollandLuke Hochevar and Jed Hansen. The 2002 squad was led by skipper Bucky Dent, with Mike Jirschele at the helm for the rest of the decade and through the 2013 campaign.


The Omaha Golden Spikes will return for one night on Friday, June 22 to commemorate the 1990-99 decade. Despite only playing as the Golden Spikes for three seasons (1999-2001), players from that era included stars such as Carlos Beltran, Raul Ibanez and Jeff MontgomerySweeneyKevin AppierJermaine DyeJoe RandaChris HatcherBob Hamelin and Dwayne Hosey all played in that decade as well with the Omaha Royals between 1990-98. The club also earned three division titles between 1990-99, in addition to an American Association and Triple-A National Championship in 1990. The club also began their first season in the Pacific Coast League in 1998.


In celebration of the 1980-89 decade of Omaha professional baseball, the organization will wear Flashback Jerseys hailing from the 1985 Omaha Royals. Players during this decade included David ConeTom GordonBuddy BiancalanaKevin SeitzerKen Phelps and Bombo Rivera. It was during this era the Kansas City Royals earned their first World Series title in 1985, while Omaha earned four American Association Divisional crowns as well.


The final Flashback Jersey will honor where it all began by commemorating the 1969 Omaha Royals for the 1969-79 decade. During this era, Omaha earned five Division crowns and three American Association titles, including League Championships in each of their first two seasons in franchise history under the direction of manager Jack McKeon. Other notable Omaha Royals alumni in this era include Royals Hall of Famers George BrettFrank White, Dan Quisenberry and Paul Splittorff, in addition to U L WashingtonWillie WilsonGeorge Spriggs and Jerry Cram.

RELATED STORIES: Kansas City Royals to Make Werner Park Debut

, , , ,