Top Menu

Wickline new Prospect League commissioner

Prospect League logoWe have a new commissioner of the summer-collegiate Prospect League: Bryan Wickline, a league founder and past president, replaces Dave Chase.

Wickline was a key player in the formation of the Prospect League and the merger with the historic Central Illinois Collegiate League (CICL) in 2009. Elected president at the first Prospect League Board of Director’s meeting at the ABCA in San Diego, he has served in that capacity until his appointment as commissioner. He also brings some previous time in the commissioner’s office, having spent the 2009 season as co-commissioner.

“Bryan brings a unique grasp of what the Prospect League is about and what we need to grow into the future” said Wink Robinson, Prospect League Vice President and Director of the Butler BlueSox. “We believe he is the catalyst that will take us to the goals we want to achieve as a League and get us to the next level.”

Bryan brings over twenty years of operational experience with Midwestern baseball both in the independent professional Frontier League and in summer collegiate Prospect League baseball. A Chillicothe native and Ohio University graduate, he began working as an intern for the then professional, Chillicothe Paints of the Frontier League in 1994 and was quickly appointed assistant general manager for the next season. By the 1996 season, Wickline assumed the role of General Manager. The title and duties of vice president were added in 2000.

While remaining connected with the Paints and the Prospect League, Wickline assumed the duties of president of the Rockford Aviators (independent; Frontier League) in 2011. He served on the Executive Committee and the Hall of Fame Committee for the Frontier League as well as on its Board of Directors.

Among the many awards that Wickline has received are; Frontier League Executive of the Year in 1996, 1998, 2006 and 2008; Organization of the Year in ’96 and ’98 (Chillicothe).

, , , , , ,