Top Menu

Midwest Collegiate League adds Kankakee for 2012

Midwest Collegiate League logoThe summer-collegiate Midwest Collegiate League is adding a Kankakee (Ill.) team for the 2012 season, as the team will be playing at the Kankakee Community College ballpark.

“The Kankakee, Illinois market offers the Midwest Collegiate League an ideal location, which is easily accessible from the I-57 Interstate Highway,” said Midwest Collegiate League Commissioner Don Popravak. “It fits perfectly with our expansion plans across the expansive expressway system throughout the Midwest which will also allow for shorter travel times between games, pleasing fans, players, and scouts alike.”

The Midwest Collegiate League currently has four active clubs: the Chicago Zephyrs, Rockford Foresters, Southland Vikings and Will County CrackerJacks. Popravak anticipates announcing an additional expansion club for the 2012 season.

Next on the agenda for the team: a name-the-team contest. You can submit a team name via email to The team will take suggestions on potential names for the club through the end of July before announcing the team name and logo in early September. Our choice: the Kankakee Kanks, who played in the old Class D Illinois-Missouri League.


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Subscribers to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter see features before they’re posted to the site. You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

, , , , , , , ,