Top Menu

Pacific Coast League

Pacific Coast LeagueThe Pacific Coast League was the equivalent to a major league in its early years, operating with its own local farm teams and attracting talent who didn’t necessarily see the need to head East to play against major competition. After World War II there was consideration to taking the formal steps to position the PCL as a true major league, but an agreement with Major League Baseball ensured that it would always be at the top tier of Minor League Baseball. Today the PCL is the largest minor league when it comes to footprint, stretching from Tacoma to Louisville to New Orleans to Des Moines.

Independent / 1903
Class A / 1904-1911
Class AA / 1912-1945
Open / 1952-1957
Class AAA / 1946-1951, 1958-present

Current Teams (in alphabetical order)
Albuquerque Isotopes
Colorado Springs Sky Sox
Fresno Grizzlies
Iowa Cubs
Las Vegas 51s
Memphis Redbirds
Nashville Sounds
New Orleans Zephyrs
Oklahoma City RedHawks
Omaha Storm Chasers
Reno Aces
Round Rock Express
Sacramento River Cats
Salt Lake Bees
Tacoma Rainiers
Tucson Padres

Teams (in alphabetical order)
Albuquerque Dukes, 1972-1996
Albuquerque Isotopes, 2003-present
Arkansas Travelers, 1964
Dallas Rangers, 1964
Dallas-Fort Worth Rangers, 1963
Denver Bears, 1963-1968
Calgary Cannons, 1985-2002
Colorado Springs Sky Sox, 1988-present
Edmonton Trappers, 1981-2004
Eugene Emeralds, 1969-1973
Fresno Raisin Eaters, 1906
Hawaii Islanders, 1961-1987
Hollywood Stars, 1926-1935, 1938-1957
Indianapolis Indians, 1964-1968
Iowa Cubs
Las Vegas 51s, 2000-present
Las Vegas Stars, 1983-1999
Los Angeles Angels, 1903-1957
Mission Bells, 1926-1927
Mission Reds, 1928-1937
Mission Wolves, 1914
Memphis Redbirds
Nashville Sounds
New Orleans Zephyrs
Oakland Oaks, 1903-1955
Ogden A’s, 1979-1980
Oklahoma City 89ers, 1963-1968
Oklahoma City RedHawks
Omaha Golden Spikes
Omaha Royals
Omaha Storm Chasers
Phoenix Firebirds, 1986-1996
Phoenix Giants, 1958-1959, 1966-1985
Portland Beavers, 1905-1972, 1978-1993, 2002-2010
Portland Browns, 1903-1904
Portland Giants, 1905
Reno Aces, 2009-present
Sacramento River Cats, 2001-present
Sacramento Sacts, 1909-1914
Sacramento Senators, 1903, 1920-1935
Sacramento Solons, 1936-1960, 1974-1976
San Diego Padres, 1936-1968
San Francisco Seals, 1903-1957
San Jose Missions, 1977-1978
Salt Lake City Angels, 1971-1974
Salt Lake City Bees, 1915-1925, 1958-1965, 1970, 2006-present
Salt Lake Buzz, 1994-1996
Salt Lake Stingers, 1997-2005
Salt Lake City Gulls, 1975-1984
Seattle Angels, 1965-1968
Seattle Indians, 1922-1932, 1934-1937
Seattle Rainiers, 1920-1921, 1933, 1938-1964
Seattle Siwashes, 1903-1906
Spokane Indians, 1958-1971, 1974-1982
Tacoma Cubs, 1966-1971
Tacoma Giants, 1960-1965
Tacoma Rainiers, 1995-present
Tacoma Tigers, 1904-1905, 1980-1994
Tacoma Twins, 1972-1977
Tacoma Tugs, 1979
Tacoma Yankees, 1978
Tucson Padres, 2011-present
Tucson Sidewinders, 1997-2008
Tucson Toros, 1969-1996
Tulsa Oilers, 1966-1968
Vancouver Canadians, 1978-1996
Vancouver Mounties, 1956-1962, 1965-1969
Venice Tigers, 1913-1915
Vernon Tigers, 1909-1912, 1915-1925

Read Ballpark Digest stories about the Pacific Coast League here.


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Subscribers to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter see features before they’re posted to the site. You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

, , , , , , , ,