Top Menu

Thunder named Team of the Year in MiLBYs

Trenton ThunderThe Trenton Thunder (Class AA; Eastern League) is the Team of the Year following a three-week online voting period in the annual MiLBY Awards, presented by each fall.

The Thunder were the champions of the Eastern League after earning the East Division Wild Card during the regular season. Trenton got hot at the end of the year and finished on a nine-game winning streak including sweeps of the first place Binghamton Mets in the Eastern Division Championship and the Western Division Champs, the Harrisburg Senators, to earn the title. Trenton became the first team to sweep both rounds of the EL postseason since 1991.

The title is the franchise’s third in its 20 seasons in Trenton, all under the watch of Manager Tony Franklin. In Franklin’s seven years with the Thunder, he has led them to the EL Championship Series five times.

MiLBYs are the end-of-season awards that honor the best players, teams and performances of the Minor League season. For three weeks, fans chose their favorites in 13 categories at The official website of Minor League Baseball announces Fans’ Choice winners as well as staff picks for the major awards.


Share your news with the baseball community. Send it to us at

Are you a subscriber to the weekly Ballpark Digest newsletter? You can sign up for a free subscription at the Newsletter Signup Page.

Join Ballpark Digest on Facebook and on Twitter!

Follow Ballpark Digest on Google + and add us to your circles!

, , , , ,